top of page

MY RESEARCH BLOG

Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine

Argon sample prep

This morning I headed over to the NMT Bureau's argon lab. I transferred my samples from the irradiation tray to a thoughtful configuration in another tray so that we can zap the crystals with a laser and extract the argon.

The single crystals of anorthoclase were each weighed and then put in alternating holes in the tray by themselves. Then the glass separate which was much finer grain was put into four of the holes at a few mg each.


I wore a ring to track my radiation dosage. A quick scan with a geiger counter suggest that I would need to carry the samples around in my pocket for over 50 hours to get about the same dose that a pilot gets in a year. I was only the lab for about an hour and a half.

samples around in my pocket for over 50 hours to get about the same dose that a pilot gets in a year. I was only the lab for about an hour and a half.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page